“Evangelism is just one beggar telling another beggar where to find bread.”

I came across this quote in my bible by D. T. Niles. One beggar telling another where to find bread. This really made me think.  Isn’t that how it should be? I think we’ve forgotten that we’re all here together. So many hungry, starving, dying, for bread.At the very end of last year, I made a radical change in my life. Much from, no pun intended, the book Radical, by David Platt. I started going to church and began to start going through those same familiar hypocritical motions that go along with calling yourself a Christian. I had heard the buzz about the book and didn’t think it could be true. I wasn’t looking for anything to “rock my world” like everyone I had talked to told me that it would. In the back of my mind, I honestly didn’t know why I would even read it. I didn’t want to live a radical life for God. I wanted to live for me and He could be there just in case. That’s what I had been doing. I bought the book. And I started to read. I couldn’t stop. I was amazed at how eye-opening it was. What if everyone was right? What if it would ruin my life for the better? They were. And it did.

After reading the book. I could see my life from the outside, how others saw it. And it made me sick. More than it ever had. There wasn’t a bigger definition of hypocrite in the book. I was ashamed that I could call myself a Christian when my life obviously said otherwise. I had been to this place before, like at every D-now I had been to, every year I would feel terrible and pray for forgiveness only to be at the next party the weekend after. This time it was different. It was harder. I was sick and I wanted a real relationship with Jesus Christ, one that I could live radically inside of. So that’s what I got. Radical abandonment into His arms. I recommitted my life after so many years of faking it and started brand new with the Lord. Not to take away from the book, but it wasn’t what changed me. It was from the inside. I decided not to burn out like I had so many times before. Not to try to be a good person for a week and then go back to my old ways. From then on, I was going to be a Christian, not just say I was.

That was in December. I can’t believe how much my life has changed since then. There’s no comparison to the happiness I’ve been blessed with since then. I can’t help but want to share that. It’s inexplainable. Everyone needs it. So that’s my goal. Help beggars, sinners, like me, that are starving, find bread. So many are so hungry, when they can be so full. I want to take them to the bread. I’m going to help them find that bread that I found and am so desperately in love with. The only bread. Shouldn’t we all?

Leave a Reply

Ally in Africa

Missionary stories. Challenging ideas. Changing the way we think about missions.

Normal Radical

turning an ordinary life to extraordinary by the grace of God.

OH, the places you'll go.

A year spent in Antananarivo, Madagascar.

Stories for later

A travel blog which contains personal adventure stories, gear reviews and specific packlists!

Shared Plates

Connections through travel and food: travels from 2014-2015

David and Liza Cooke

Partnership for Peace

My Big Trip

Living my dream of travelling the world

FTV Birmingham Blog

News from the MA in Film and Television: Research and Production at the University of Birmingham

rachctruitt

Let His Glory Be Known

Mumblings of a Mzungu

a story of God's relentless love and my attempts to live it out

Kenyareporter

Feel Good Kenyan Story

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

Striving for Courage

Learning to be what He's always called me to be

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

